NOV 09, 2021 9:00 AM PST

Advances in Celiac Disease Testing: From method validation to serological diagnosis

Sponsored by:Bio-Rad Laboratories
C.E. Credits:P.A.C.E. CEFlorida CE
Speakers

Abstract
Date: November 9, 2021
Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT)
乳糜泻(CD)血清学扮演重要的罗依le in CD screening, diagnosis and monitoring of dietary adherence and ongoing mucosal inflammation. Numerous societies have universally recommended CD screening in gluten-exposed individuals through serologic testing for IgA autoantibodies to tissue transglutaminase (tTG IgA), as the most sensitive screening test. The North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition (NASPGHN) has recommended a biopsy in symptomatic children with positive tTG IgA or asymptomatic at-risk children with positive tTG IgA or tTG IgG. The European Society Paediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition (ESPGHAN) has proposed a no-biopsy option for children with tTG IgA result of ≥10 times the upper limit of normal (10XULN), if endomysial IgA antibody (EMA IgA) is positive in a second blood sample Since the analytical performance of serology assays has not been standardized, large inter-assay variability and variable concordance with confirmatory methods can be found. Therefore, assays and testing algorithms should be carefully evaluated for clinical and analytical performance by testing laboratories. In particular, the dose-response relationships amongst tTG IgA assays are often non-linear and therefore, implementation of the 10X ULN cut-off should be carefully evaluated. This presentation will provide an overview of analytical methods used for serologic evaluation of celiac disease, their strengths and limitations, as well as important analytical considerations of clinical impact when one is validating a new method.
Learning Objectives
  • Describe analytical methods for celiac disease serology used in clinical laboratories
  • Discuss challenges in implementing a serological diagnosis for celiac disease.
  • Describe two considerations for validating a new cut-off in an assay.
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
LabRoots is approved as a provider of continuing education programs in the clinical laboratory sciences by the ASCLS P.A.C.E. ® Program. By attending this webinar, you can earn 1 Continuing Education credit once you have viewed the webinar in its entirety.

ShowResources
You May Also Like
SEP 14, 20217:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
What prevents you from increasing your PCR productivity?
SEP 14, 20217:00 AM PDT
Date: September 14, 2021 Time: 7am PDT, 10am EDT, 4pm CEST A conventional thermal cycler has long been a commodity product in the lab and end-point PCR techniques can be completed almost wit...
OCT 20, 202110:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
DIABETES AND THE CLINICAL LABORATORY
OCT 20, 202110:00 AM PDT
Date: October 20, 2021 Time:10:00am (PDT), 1:00pm (EDT) As the prevalence of Diabetes continues to rise in many areas across the globe, healthcare providers continue to look for methods that...
NOV 30, 202110:00 AM PST
C.E. CREDITS
The Role of the Laboratory in Managing Thyroid Health
NOV 30, 202110:00 AM PST
Date: November 30, 2021 Time: 10:00am (PDT), 1:00pm (EDT) The prevalence of thyroid disease worldwide has served as a catalyst for healthcare providers to study various tools and methods to...
SEP 17, 202112:00 PM CST
C.E. CREDITS
Developing better techniques for 3D culture and analysis.
SEP 17, 202112:00 PM CST
Date: September 16, 2021 Time: 9:00pm (PDT), 12:00am (EDT) 3D cellular models like organoids and spheroids offer an opportunity to better understand complex biology in a physiologically rele...
OCT 12, 20219:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
An overview and demonstration of SCIEX Biologics Explorer software for biologics characterization
OCT 12, 20219:00 AM PDT
Date: October 12, 2021 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT) SCIEX’s next-generation Biologics Explorer software is an innovative platform for the comprehensive and deep characterization o...
AUG 11, 202110:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
PART 2: sigma Strong. How stronger harmonization builds better assays, simplifies quality control, and strengthens results.
AUG 11, 202110:00 AM PDT
Date: August 11, 2021 Time: 10:00am (PDT), 1:00pm (EDT) Quality can never be assumed, is never automatic, and requires the long-term commitment of the laboratory, staff, and manufacturers. L...
Loading Comments...
ShowResources
Baidu